March 7 is National Cereal Day

Thank you, Foodimentary, for sharing food and food product histories with us:

http://foodimentary.com/today-in-national-food-holidays/march-food-holidays/

 

On tablespoon.com, there is a recipe called, Bottom of the Cereal Box Cookies.  What better way to celebrate  National Cereal Day than to make a batch of these. I will copy the instructions to this on the Recipes page of this blog.  The great thing about it is that you use whatever cereal you have on hand:

Bottom of the Cereal Box Cookies

                                  

A Grain of Truth – or, My Thoughts on Cereal

batman_cereal_boxes_postma_l

  • As a kid, I enjoyed Count Chocula and Franken Berry cereals.
  • In college, the dining hall kept the cereal dispensers out all day, and not just at breakfast time. If nothing in the dining hall appealed to me that day, I had a bowl of Cap’n Crunch’s Crunch Berries for dinner.
  • I have used Coco Pebbles and Fruity Pebbles cereals in cookie recipes.
  • When I taught second grade, we used the different marshmallows from Lucky Charms for sorting, graphing, comparing, and various other math skills.
  • About 20 years ago, I discovered that I prefer eating cereal dry. I’m not talking about nibbling on a handful of cereal out of the box to satisfy the munchies.  When I pour a bowlful of cereal, I no longer add any milk, enjoying the crunch as well as the taste.

      

Reply below and share some of your thoughts – favorite cereals as kid and as an adult, favorite sugary cereal and favorite healthy cereal, etc.  Have a recipe which includes cereal as an ingredient?  Enjoy eating a bowl of cereal at times other than breakfast?  Have a favorite cereal jingle or commercial?  Do you prefer Kellogg’s or Post Raisin Bran?  Please comment.  Thank you.

One thought on “March 7 is National Cereal Day

  1. Hi B, I often eat cereal for dinner at night; rice krispies, cheerios, or frosted mini wheats. I usually have milk but not sugar. I can’t eat heavy foods in the evening
    so I’ve always loved cereal and so it’s a natural! Keep up the excellent ideas in
    baking!

Sit. Eat. Tell me what you think...

