Now that’s a cookie!

20140315_112128

Where I live, right past the courthouse, is a small shopping area which includes a grocery store called Harvest Market.  Harvest Market carries locally grown produce and a huge assortment of natural, organic and healthy foods.  Everyone who works there is very friendly and helpful.   Close to the register is a table with samples of 4-6 different foods.  The other day, as I entered the store and walked by the table, this box of cookies caught my eye.

It was a box of Dark Chocolate Chocolate Chunk Cookies by Pamela’s Products.  I’ve seen these cookies before in different supermarkets.  What made me notice them this time, was that the package was labeled Gluten-Free.  Since, I’ve recently tried cutting back on gluten (but not my desire for sweets), I wanted to taste this cookie.  Delicious!  It was rich and moist and tasted like a brownie.  Alas!  I’ve found a gluten-free food that does not have a taste which one needs to learn to like.  If you are gluten-free in your diet, and you like chocolate, I highly recommend this cookie.

20140315_112206

6 thoughts on “Now that’s a cookie!

  1. I’m going to have to look for theses. My BFF has a gluten intolerance, and I eat a lot of gluten-free foods with her. We recently had a bad experience with some “brownie cakes.” Unfortunately, we don’t live in a great area for gluten free needs.

    • Another good brand is Enjoy Life. Pamela’s is my top favorite, though, as it is a soft cookie, and Enjoy Life’s double chocolate cookie is a hard cookie, or as they refer to it, a crispy cookie.

      • I was looking at websites of gluten-free foods. Enjoy Life does have a soft double chocolate cookie (in addition to the crispy cookie). Unfortunately, I haven’t seen it in any grocery stores in my area.

  2. Pingback: . . .And The Winner Is! | Cooking and Composition

Sit. Eat. Tell me what you think...

