Jelly Beans

                                                imagesCAD9F981

 

As much as I like chocolate, come Eastertime, I do not get into all the chocolate bunnies, eggs, and chicks. Instead my sweet tooth is satisfied from jelly beans.  Looking just like colorful, miniature Easter eggs, jelly beans are the perfect candy for this time of year.  Brach’s, Jelly Belly, and Gimbal’s are three brands you can find year-round. Brach’s has classic flavors as well as sour, speckled, spice, Hawaiian Punch, and Smuckers varieties, as well as Blackbird eggs, which is a bag of all licorice jelly beans. Jelly Belly produces scores of fancy flavors, including soda and ice cream flavors, kiwi, popcorn, and beer flavored jelly beans.  Gimbal’s makes classic and sour flavored jelly beans; any Gimbal’s varieties with “Lovers” in the name (Cherry Lovers, Honey Lovers) are actually heart shaped jelly-beans.

imagesCABNBDPL            untitled (13)              untitled (8)

Jelly beans also celebrate popular children’s characters.

imagesCA3LW0A0           imagesCAWC9N30    untitled (16)

During certain holidays, jelly beans of different colors and flavors are available.

 imagesCA6AOWM6                            untitled (14)

While several holidays result in many varieties of candy for sale, Easter is hands-down the holiday with the most variety of jelly beans. Unlike the select colors for other holidays, Easter jelly beans are often a jelly bean version of a common candy.  Check out the seasonal candy in stores right now.  There are Warheads jelly beans, Lifesaver jelly beans, and SweeTarts jelly beans.  Not to mention Mike and Ike, Swedish Fish, Runts, Nerds, Starburst and Jolly Rancher jelly beans.

imagesCA1V861X

My favorite of them all are the Mike and Ike original jelly beans.  Mike and Ike are already similar to jelly beans, just longer and a little less round.  The Mike and Ike beans contain the same flavors as the original Mike and Ike candy plus white/pineapple and purple/grape.  Mike and Ike candies are made by Just Born.  At this time of year, you may also find Just Born jelly beans.  These are the same flavors as Mike and Ike jelly beans, with the addition of black/licorice.

20140413_165756 (1)                             untitled (6)

What’s your favorite brand of jelly bean?

Please keep reading to learn about chocolate-covered jelly beans………

 

In 2010, the Jelly Belly company introduced Chocolate Dips, chocolate-covered jelly beans, in six flavors: Very Cherry, Orange, Strawberry, Coconut, Raspberry and Mint. Until recently, I had not tried any of them.  On a whim, I bought a small pack of the orange Dips one day while grocery shopping.  Now, to me, most orange candy does not taste right.  The flavor reminds me of the orange-flavored aspirin my parents gave me when I was a child. So, why I bought the orange Dips instead of one of the other five flavors, I do not know. When I tasted the Dips, it did take me back to my childhood, not because it tasted like orange aspirin but because it tasted like the chocolate covered candied orange peel my parents bought from places like Sears and JC Penney when they used to have candy counters in their stores.

untitled (12)                       images (5)

 

About a week ago, I saw in a store Brach’s Chocolate Covered Jelly Beans.  Remembering how much I enjoyed the Jelly Belly Dips, I thought I would give these a try.  imagesCAL13A93        When I opened the bag and emptied them into a bowl, the first thing I noticed was that at least half of them were not jelly bean shaped.  Keeping in mind that Brach’s jelly beans are larger in size than most other brands; however these were various shapes and not simply oval/egg/bean shaped.

20140417_231242                 brachs-chocolate-covered-jelly-beans-133115-im

So, right away, I felt as if I wouldn’t be eating jelly beans.  They were a little too sweet for my liking, even the dark chocolate ones..  I’ll stick to Jelly Belly’s Chocolate Dips. They are all made with dark chocolate and are a nice sweet treat.

 

Remember, Tuesday, April 22, is National Jelly Bean Day.  Whether you go for the traditional flavors or original flavors like café mocha or bacon-flavored jelly beans, buy a bag of beans and enjoy!

 

Sit. Eat. Tell me what you think...

