Sausage & Cheese Muffins

Image

I made breakfast yesterday, using one of the breakfast muffin recipes that I posted last week.  The bacon and cheese muffins sounded good to me, so that was the plan.  I had sausage  but not bacon, and remembering my vow to be resourceful and not wasteful, I decided to use the sausage on hand instead of buying bacon.  I used Applegate Natural links which are gluten free.  I thinly sliced two links for the recipe.

 

20140501_112016      Usually, when I fill muffin tins, I tend to put too much batter in each cavity.  As a result, I often end up with only 10 or 11 cavities filled , and thus not a complete dozen. This time, though,  there was only enough batter to fill six of the twelve cavities.

20140501_113156

The recipe came from a muffin cookbook I bought years ago.  It did not specify using a mini-muffin tin, and the muffins in the photo appeared to be regular sized.  So, why after using the measurements prescribed, did I end up with only a half-dozen?  The biscuit mix was a gluten-free variety.  That sometimes affects the consistency of what is baked, but it shouldn’t affect the amount of  batter produced. Any thoughts?

2 thoughts on “Sausage & Cheese Muffins

  1. Hi there Baker nephew, The six you got look really good. I think I would pass on sausage; however you are so resourceful I would have to eat the sausage! (I love
    bacon, but wouldn’t that have more grease than the sausage)?
    Keep baking, I like your results! aln

Sit. Eat. Tell me what you think...

